Peptide Side Effects by Class: What the Evidence Shows
Peptide is a broad label. It covers short chains of amino acids that sit between small-molecule drugs and large proteins,6 and the phrase gets stretched across FDA-approved medicines and a gray market of unapproved compounds that are unregulated and readily available online.9 Their side effects are not one list. This page sorts them by class and, more importantly, by how much is actually known: the approved peptide drugs carry documented reactions on their labels, while for most of the research peptides the honest answer is that human safety data barely exists. It does not tell anyone what to take.
7
Approved classes with FDA label data here
12
Research peptides on FDA category 2 risk list
3
Human pilot studies behind BPC-157
This is general education, not medical advice, and not a diagnosis. It describes what published trials, FDA drug labels and FDA compounding records say, and it labels the evidence level for every figure. Nothing below is a dose you should take, a schedule, or an instruction to use any compound. Dose figures appear only to show what a study or a label reported, always marked as not a recommendation. Anyone weighing any of this belongs in a conversation with a licensed clinician who knows their history.
The line that decides everything
Before any class-by-class list, one distinction does most of the work. The peptide field splits into approved peptide drugs, which have gone through a rigorous approval process that evaluates safety and efficacy, and a parallel gray market of unapproved compounds operating largely outside regulatory oversight.6 That single split decides how much you can actually say about side effects. An approved drug has an FDA label built from clinical trials, so its common and serious reactions are documented with numbers. An unapproved research peptide usually does not, and one review is blunt that adverse effects are possible due to unregulated manufacturing, contamination, or unknown clinical safety.2
The orthopaedic literature offers a working taxonomy for the research side: wound-healing peptides such as BPC-157, TB-500 and GHK-Cu; growth hormone secretagogues such as ipamorelin, CJC-1295, tesamorelin, sermorelin and AOD-9604; recovery agents such as epitalon; and neuroactive peptides such as selank and semax.5 Many of these show favorable results in animal models, but rigorous human safety data are scarce.6 The FDA has a formal way of saying the same thing. Its interim compounding policy sorts nominated bulk substances into categories, and category 2 means the agency has identified significant safety risks relating to their use in compounding pending further evaluation.23 As of that list, a dozen of these peptides sit in category 2, each flagged for concerns the agency has not been able to resolve.24
So read the two halves of this page differently. The approved-drug section reports label facts. The research-peptide section reports mostly the absence of facts, which is itself the most important finding. Note also that one class, the GLP-1 agonists, has its own dedicated write-up, so it appears here only as a single row with a pointer to the GLP-1 side effects guide.
Approved peptide drugs, side effects by class
These are peptide medicines with current US labels. The reactions below are quoted or summarized from those labels, which is the strongest kind of side effect data in this whole piece, because it comes from clinical trials the FDA has reviewed. The table gives the shape of each class, and the notes that follow add the figures and the doses each label actually states, every dose marked as not a recommendation.
| Class (example) | Most common labeled reactions | Notable labeled risks |
|---|---|---|
| GLP-1 agonist (semaglutide) | Nausea, abdominal pain, diarrhea, decreased appetite, vomiting, constipation | Boxed warning: rodent thyroid C-cell tumors, human relevance undetermined; acute pancreatitis. See the GLP-1 page [16] |
| GHRH analog (tesamorelin) | Arthralgia, injection site erythema and pruritus, pain in extremity, peripheral edema, myalgia | Neoplasms, elevated IGF-1, fluid retention, glucose intolerance or diabetes; contraindicated in active malignancy [17] |
| Melanocortin agonist (bremelanotide) | Nausea, flushing, injection site reactions, headache, vomiting | Transient rise in blood pressure with a drop in heart rate; focal hyperpigmentation; not recommended at high cardiovascular risk [18] |
| Somatostatin analog (octreotide) | Gallbladder abnormalities, sinus bradycardia, diarrhea, loose stools, nausea, abdominal discomfort, hyperglycemia, hypothyroidism | Cholelithiasis and its complications, cardiac function abnormalities, thyroid abnormalities, low vitamin B12 [19] |
| PTH analog (teriparatide) | Arthralgia, pain, nausea | Osteosarcoma signal (dose-related in rats; post-marketing human reports); hypercalcemia; orthostatic hypotension [20] |
| GnRH agonist (leuprolide) | Malaise, fatigue, hot flashes and sweats, testicular atrophy | Tumor flare, cardiovascular disease, QT effect, convulsions; MI, sudden death and stroke reported in men, risk described as low [21] |
| Vasopressin analog (desmopressin) | Headache, nausea, flushing, mild abdominal cramps (with large intranasal doses) | Hyponatremia, which the label says can be fatal if untreated [22] |
GLP-1 agonists (deduped to their own page)
Semaglutide is the reference case for a peptide with a heavily documented profile. The most common reactions at an incidence of 5% or more are nausea, abdominal pain, diarrhea, decreased appetite, vomiting and constipation, and the label carries a boxed warning that in rodents semaglutide causes dose-dependent and treatment-duration-dependent thyroid C-cell tumors, with the human relevance not determined.16 Because that class has depth, the full breakdown lives on the GLP-1 side effects guide, and this page keeps it to a single row rather than restating it.
GHRH analog: tesamorelin
Tesamorelin, marketed as EGRIFTA SV, is a growth hormone releasing hormone analog approved for HIV-associated lipodystrophy. The label lists arthralgia, injection site erythema and pruritus, pain in extremity, peripheral edema and myalgia among reactions above 5%, and it warns on neoplasms, elevated IGF-1, fluid retention, glucose intolerance or diabetes, and hypersensitivity, which occurred in 4% of treated patients.17 During trials, an HbA1c at or above 6.5% by Week 26 appeared in 5% on drug versus 1% on placebo, with an intent-to-treat hazard odds ratio of 3.3 (confidence interval 1.4 to 9.6), and because the drug releases endogenous growth hormone, a known growth factor, the label directs that patients with active malignancy not be treated.17 The label sets the dose at 1.4 mg injected subcutaneously once daily into the abdomen (approved-label dose, not a recommendation, FDA prescribing information).17
Melanocortin agonist: bremelanotide
Bremelanotide, marketed as Vyleesi, is an approved melanocortin receptor agonist for premenopausal women with hypoactive sexual desire disorder, studied in two 24-week randomized placebo-controlled trials in 1247 women aged 19 to 56, plus a 52-week open-label extension.18 Nausea dominates the profile: it was reported in 40% of treated patients versus 1% on placebo, and it led discontinuations at 8%.18 Each dose transiently raises blood pressure and lowers heart rate, and focal hyperpigmentation is a distinctive risk, so the label figures are worth reading directly.
- Most common reactions above 4%: nausea, flushing, injection site reactions, headache, vomiting. [18]
- Blood pressure: maximal increases of 6 mmHg systolic and 3 mmHg diastolic peaking 2 to 4 hours after a dose, with heart rate down up to 5 beats per minute, usually back to baseline within 12 hours. Not recommended in patients at high risk for cardiovascular disease. [18]
- Focal hyperpigmentation of the face, gingiva and breasts in 1% at up to 8 doses per month, but 38% after 8 consecutive daily doses and a further 14% over 8 more days; higher risk with darker skin, and resolution after stopping was not confirmed in all patients. [18]
The label gives 1.75 mg injected subcutaneously as needed at least 45 minutes before sexual activity, with no more than one dose in 24 hours and no more than 8 doses a month (approved-label dose, not a recommendation, FDA prescribing information).18 This approved molecule is not the same as the unapproved Melanotan II discussed further down, even though both act on melanocortin receptors. The wider melanocortin picture is also documented: an endocrinology review notes the FDA approved setmelanotide in 2020 for certain syndromic obesity, and bremelanotide and afamelanotide in 2019.15
Somatostatin analog: octreotide
Octreotide is the class where the signature side effect is well quantified. The label reports biliary tract abnormalities in 63% of patients in clinical trials, broken down as 27% gallstones, 24% sludge without stones and 12% biliary duct dilatation, with stones or sludge in 52% of those treated for 12 months or longer versus under 2% at one month or less.19 The most common reactions above 10% in acromegaly are gallbladder abnormalities, sinus bradycardia, diarrhea, loose stools, nausea, abdominal discomfort, hyperglycemia and hypothyroidism, and the warnings span cardiac function abnormalities, thyroid abnormalities and depressed vitamin B12.19 The label gives an acromegaly starting dose of 50 micrograms three times daily for the first 2 weeks, then a maintenance range of 100 to 500 micrograms three times daily, and a carcinoid range of 100 to 600 micrograms daily in two to four divided doses (approved-label dose, not a recommendation, FDA prescribing information).19
PTH analog: teriparatide
Teriparatide is a useful case in reading a risk honestly, because the strongest signal is an animal one. The most common reactions above 10% are arthralgia, pain and nausea, and the label describes osteosarcoma, a malignant bone tumor, seen in rats.20 In the carcinogenicity study printed in that same label, Fischer 344 rats received daily subcutaneous teriparatide at 5, 30, or 75 micrograms/kg/day for 24 months, and osteosarcoma incidence rose with dose, reaching 40% to 50% in the high-dose groups, with none in untreated controls (animal study, rats, subcutaneous, FDA prescribing information).20 The label is careful about the human read across: osteosarcoma has been reported in patients after marketing, but an increased risk of osteosarcoma has not been observed in observational studies in humans.20 The human dose is 20 micrograms subcutaneously once a day into the thigh or abdomen, with use beyond 2 years in a lifetime restricted by the label (approved-label dose, not a recommendation, FDA prescribing information).20
GnRH agonist: leuprolide
Leuprolide, in the VABRINTY label, lists malaise, fatigue, hot flashes and sweats, and testicular atrophy among reactions at 5% or more, with class effects including decreased bone density and rare pituitary apoplexy.21 The clinically significant reactions named at the top of the adverse reactions section are tumor flare, hyperglycemia and diabetes, cardiovascular disease, QT and QTc interval effects, convulsions and severe cutaneous reactions, and the label notes an increased risk of myocardial infarction, sudden cardiac death and stroke reported with GnRH agonists in men, adding that the risk appears low based on the reported odds ratios.21 Dosing is 7.5 mg monthly, 22.5 mg every 3 months, 30 mg every 4 months, or 45 mg every 6 months, all subcutaneous (approved-label dose, not a recommendation, FDA prescribing information).21
Vasopressin analog: desmopressin
Desmopressin has one defining class risk. The label states that desmopressin is a potent antidiuretic which may lead to water intoxication and hyponatremia, and that unless properly diagnosed and treated, hyponatremia can be fatal, so fluid restriction is recommended, with fluid intake adjusted downward in pediatric and geriatric patients.22 Large doses of the intranasal formulations have produced transient headache, nausea, flushing and mild abdominal cramps that resolved with a dose reduction.22 The tablet label gives no single adult figure; it states the dosage must be determined for each patient and adjusted to the diurnal pattern of response (approved label, no fixed adult figure stated, FDA prescribing information).22
The research peptides: what the safety data actually shows
Here the reporting changes, because the data mostly is not there. These are the compounds people buy online, and across the popular injectables one review states plainly that information regarding the indications, dosing, frequency and duration of treatment remains unknown.7 A scoping review found 67% of the relevant publications used preclinical animal models, most commonly rats, with human studies limited to a handful of investigations, most lacking robust controls.13 What follows is what the fetched sources do and do not establish for each, with no figure supplied that the sources did not state.
BPC-157
BPC-157, a pentadecapeptide originally isolated from gastric juice, rests almost entirely on animal work.1 In rat models of cutaneous and other wounds a review reported no reported toxicity, noting that LD1 was not achieved, and gave no numeric dose in the abstract.3 Human evidence totals three pilot studies, in knee pain, interstitial cystitis, and intravenous safety and pharmacokinetics, and a review concludes BPC-157 should be considered investigational.8 In the interstitial cystitis pilot, 12 women received BPC-157 as a total of 10 mg injected around the area of bladder inflammation during a single cystoscopy, with the drug supplied by a 503A compounding pharmacy and no control group described (trial dose, not a recommendation, PMID 39325560).12 No adverse events were reported there,12 yet a systematic review of 36 studies, only one of them clinical, found no clinical safety data at all,2 and one review calls the profile desirable only because so few side effects have been reported.1 The FDA places BPC-157 in category 2 and states it lacks sufficient information to know whether the drug would cause harm when administered to humans, flagging immunogenicity and peptide-related impurity and characterization problems.24 The sources contain no BPC-157 animal dose figure, so this page states none.
TB-500, GHK-Cu and the wound-healing group
For TB-500, the thymosin beta-4 fragment, the FDA states it has not identified any human exposure data on drug products containing the fragment, and lacks important information including whether it would cause harm in humans.24 GHK-Cu, a tripeptide, attenuated lung inflammation and fibrosis in a mouse silicosis model without significant systemic toxicity, but the abstract states no dose or route,11 and no clinical data support its use for musculoskeletal conditions.7 For the injectable form the FDA notes only that there are limited data in humans to inform safety-related considerations.24 The wider point from the primer is that these repair peptides show promise in preclinical models while their human orthopaedic data are lacking.7
Growth hormone secretagogues: ipamorelin, CJC-1295, MK-677, AOD-9604
CJC-1295 is one of the few research peptides with a real placebo-controlled human trial. Two randomized, placebo-controlled ascending-dose trials in healthy adults gave it subcutaneously at 30 and 60 micrograms/kg, and the authors reported no serious adverse reactions, though the abstract does not state how many people took part (trial dose, not a recommendation, PMID 16352683).4 The combination of CJC-1295 with ipamorelin improved maximum tetanic tension in a murine model of glucocorticoid-induced muscle loss, a finding limited to animals.7 Ipamorelin itself carries a specific FDA safety note: the agency cites a published study identifying serious adverse events including death when ipamorelin was administered intravenously for improving gastric motility.24 MK-677, ibutamoren, is grouped with peptides in the sports literature though neither source calls it a peptide, and a randomized placebo-controlled hip fracture trial was terminated early due to a potential safety signal of congestive heart failure,24 a risk the sports literature echoes.13 For AOD-9604, the FDA states it has identified serious adverse events that may be associated with the compound, though causality is not clear.24
Melanotan II
Melanotan II is the research peptide with the most concrete harm signal in these records. The FDA category 2 statement cites published case reports of serious adverse events including melanoma, posterior reversible encephalopathy syndrome, sympathomimetic toxidrome and priapism.24 Those claims rest on the FDA summary of published case reports, not on a primary study fetched for this page, so they are attributed to the FDA record rather than to a specific trial.
Thymosin alpha-1
Thymosin alpha-1, a synthetic polypeptide, is the unusual case that has both a clinical track record and an FDA compounding flag. A clinical pharmacology review reports it is well tolerated, with most studies observing only local irritation at the injection site, and that for hepatitis B and C it was given at 1.6 mg (900 micrograms/m2) subcutaneously twice a week (trial dose, not a recommendation, PMID 11381492).10 It also appears as a vaccine adjuvant in mouse tumor models, where the combination produced an antitumor effect without obvious toxicity, with no dose stated in the abstract (animal study, mice, route not stated, PMID 39694701).14 Even so, the FDA calls the safety-related information inadequate for the compounded product to be understood.24
The rest of the category 2 list
For several more peptides the record is an explicit blank. Across PEG-MGF, epitalon, selank, semax and kisspeptin-10, the FDA states it has not identified adequate human exposure or safety data, so it cannot say whether they would cause harm in people.24 That is not the same as calling them safe. It is the agency saying it does not know, which for a compound people inject is the whole problem.
The risks that are not pharmacology
A large part of the research-peptide risk has nothing to do with what the molecule does in theory. A systematic review names the practical sources of harm directly: adverse effects are possible due to unregulated manufacturing, contamination, or unknown clinical safety.2 Layered on top is a chemistry problem the FDA raises again and again. Immunogenicity, the potential for the body to mount an immune response, together with peptide-related impurities and active pharmaceutical ingredient characterization, recurs as a stated concern across nearly every unapproved peptide the agency has reviewed.24 These are the reasons the compounds sit in category 2 rather than on a cleared list in the first place.23
Immunogenicity is not unique to unapproved products, which is worth stating plainly so the point is not overread. The Vietnamese semaglutide label notes that antibodies can appear after treatment, describing this as consistent with medicines that contain protein or peptide.25 The difference is that an approved drug has been characterized and monitored for exactly this, while an unregulated injectable bought online has not, and carries no guarantee of identity, purity or sterility.
In Vietnam: what is on the shelf, and what is not
On the Vietnamese pharmacy side, the pattern matches the split above. The approved peptide medicines are registered and stocked, while a search for the research peptides turns up nothing in the catalogue that could be read. Long Châu lists Ozempic 1mg with registration number 570410174600 and a smaller Ozempic pen, both prescription only, and its Ozempic page carries the same gastrointestinal-first profile as the US label, citing 8 phase 3a studies in 4,792 patients, with acute pancreatitis at 0.3% versus 0.2% for the comparator in trials and 0.5% versus 0.6% for placebo over 2 years.25 Octreotide is stocked as Sandostatin 0.1mg/ml, registration number VN-17538-13, and as Sandostatin LAR 30mg, both prescription only.26 Desmopressin appears as Minirin 0.1mg, and a GnRH agonist as Diphereline, triptorelin, in 11.25mg and 3.75mg.26 None of these listings displays a price in the served record, so there is no published figure to quote.
One number needs care. The Vietnamese Sandostatin page states that gallstones occur in 40 to 60% and instructs gallbladder and biliary ultrasound before treatment and every 6 months during it, stopping the drug if stones appear.26 That is a different measure from the US label figure of 63% biliary tract abnormalities and 27% gallstones, so the two should not be merged into one number.19 The Vietnamese pages use their own vocabulary for all of this: Tác dụng phụ for side effects, tác dụng không mong muốn (ADR) for adverse drug reactions, phản ứng bất lợi for adverse reactions, and Số đăng ký for the registration number, while the word peptide is left untranslated.25
As for the research peptides, a Long Châu search for BPC-157 returned 16 unrelated products and no match on 2026-09-06, and a search for peptide returned only cosmetic and supplement listings.25 That is a genuine null for one chain catalogue on one day. It is not a statement about availability across Vietnam, and it should not be read as one: other Vietnamese sources could not be reached during research, so this page makes no claim that these compounds are absent from the country, only that they were not in the catalogue that could be searched.
The short version
- Peptide side effects are not one list. The useful split is approved peptide drugs versus unapproved research peptides.
- Approved peptides carry documented label risks: GI upset for semaglutide, fluid retention and glucose effects for tesamorelin, gallstones for octreotide, hyponatremia for desmopressin, a rat osteosarcoma signal for teriparatide.
- For most research peptides the honest finding is missing data. The FDA lists a dozen in category 2 and repeatedly says it cannot tell whether they would cause harm.
- BPC-157 rests on three tiny human pilots and rat models; a systematic review found no clinical safety data at all.
- A big share of research-peptide risk is not pharmacology: unregulated manufacturing, contamination, immunogenicity and impurities.
- Every dose figure here is a study or label figure shown as evidence, never a recommendation. These are clinician decisions, not solo experiments.
Frequently asked questions
What are the most common peptide side effects?+
It depends on the peptide, and the honest split is between approved peptide drugs and unapproved research peptides. For approved peptide drugs, the FDA labels list the common reactions: gastrointestinal upset such as nausea and diarrhea for the GLP-1 agonist semaglutide, injection site reactions, joint pain and fluid retention for the growth hormone releasing hormone analog tesamorelin, and gallbladder problems for the somatostatin analog octreotide. For the unapproved research peptides sold online, such as BPC-157 and TB-500, there is little or no human safety data, and the FDA has said for several of them that it lacks the information to know whether they would cause harm in people.
Are research peptides like BPC-157 safe?+
No source on this page establishes that. The three small human pilot studies of BPC-157 reported no adverse events, but a 2025 systematic review found only one clinical study among 36 and concluded that no clinical safety data were found (PMID 40756949). The FDA has placed BPC-157 in category 2 of its compounding review, meaning it identified significant safety risks pending further evaluation, and it states it lacks sufficient information to know whether the drug would cause harm when administered to humans. Absence of reported harm in a handful of tiny studies is not the same as a demonstrated safety record.
Which peptide side effects are the most serious?+
Among the approved peptide drugs, the labels flag several serious risks by evidence level. Semaglutide carries a boxed warning for thyroid C-cell tumors seen in rodents, with human relevance undetermined. Teriparatide caused osteosarcoma in rats and lists a post-marketing osteosarcoma signal, though an increased risk has not been observed in human observational studies. Octreotide is tied to gallstones and other biliary problems. Desmopressin can cause hyponatremia that the label says can be fatal if untreated. These are labeled risks for approved drugs, not claims about the unapproved research peptides, whose serious-risk picture is mostly unknown.
Do approved and unapproved peptides differ in side effect data?+
Yes, and it is the central point of this page. Approved peptide drugs have FDA labels that quantify their adverse reactions from clinical trials, so their side effect profiles are documented. The unapproved research peptides largely lack human data. The FDA describes recurring concerns across the class, including immunogenicity, peptide-related impurities and active pharmaceutical ingredient characterization, and for several compounds states it has not identified human exposure data at all. So a documented label reaction and an unverified research peptide sit at very different evidence levels.
What non-drug risks do research peptides carry?+
Beyond pharmacology, a 2025 systematic review notes that adverse effects are possible due to unregulated manufacturing, contamination, or unknown clinical safety. The FDA repeats immunogenicity and peptide-related impurity concerns across nearly every unapproved peptide it has reviewed. An unapproved injectable bought outside a regulated supply chain carries no guarantee of identity, purity or sterility, which is a genuine risk for anything injected. Immunogenicity is not unique to unapproved products either: the Vietnamese semaglutide label notes that antibodies can appear after treatment, consistent with medicines that contain protein or peptide.
Sources and references
Every figure on this page traces to one of these sources, fetched on 2026-09-06. Numbers match the citation markers in the text.
- 1.PMID 40005999. Pharmaceuticals (Basel), 2025. Review: Multifunctionality and Possible Medical Application of the BPC 157 Peptide. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40005999
- 2.PMID 40756949. HSS J, 2025. Systematic review: Emerging Use of BPC-157 in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40756949
- 3.PMID 34267654. Front Pharmacol, 2021. Review: Stable Gastric Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 and Wound Healing. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34267654
- 4.PMID 16352683. J Clin Endocrinol Metab, 2006. Randomized controlled trial: Prolonged stimulation of GH and IGF-I secretion by CJC-1295 in healthy adults. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/16352683
- 5.PMID 41490200. J Am Acad Orthop Surg Glob Res Rev, 2026. Review: Therapeutic Peptides in Orthopaedics. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41490200
- 6.PMID 41966639. Sports Med, 2026. Review: Safety and Efficacy of Approved and Unapproved Peptide Therapies for Musculoskeletal Injuries and Athletic Performance. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41966639
- 7.PMID 41476424. Am J Sports Med, 2026. Narrative review: Injectable Peptide Therapy, A Primer for Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Physicians. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41476424
- 8.PMID 40789979. Curr Rev Musculoskelet Med, 2025. Narrative review: Regeneration or Risk? BPC-157 for Musculoskeletal Healing. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40789979
- 9.PMID 39265666. Arthroscopy, 2025. Review and letter: Injectable Therapeutic Peptides, An Adjunct to Regenerative Medicine and Sports Performance? pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39265666
- 10.PMID 11381492. Am J Health Syst Pharm, 2001. Review: Thymosin alpha-1. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11381492
- 11.PMID 38879894. Redox Biol, 2024. The GHK-Cu tripeptide complex attenuates lung inflammation and fibrosis in silicosis (mouse model). pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38879894
- 12.PMID 39325560. Altern Ther Health Med, 2024. Pilot study: Effect of BPC-157 on Symptoms in Patients with Interstitial Cystitis. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39325560
- 13.PMID 42578445. Am J Sports Med, 2026. Scoping review: Peptide Supplements and Their Therapeutic Applications in Sports Medicine. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42578445
- 14.PMID 39694701. J Immunother Cancer, 2024. Neoantigen hydrogel vaccine with thymosin alpha-1 as adjuvant (mouse tumor models). pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39694701
- 15.PMID 37365323. Nat Rev Endocrinol, 2023. Review: Targeting the central melanocortin system for the treatment of metabolic disorders. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37365323
- 16.Semaglutide (RYBELSUS and OZEMPIC tablets), US FDA prescribing information via openFDA. GLP-1 receptor agonist. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov semaglutide label
- 17.Tesamorelin for injection (EGRIFTA SV), US FDA prescribing information via openFDA. GHRH analog. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov tesamorelin label
- 18.Bremelanotide injection (Vyleesi), US FDA prescribing information via openFDA. Melanocortin receptor agonist. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov bremelanotide label
- 19.Octreotide acetate injection, US FDA prescribing information via openFDA. Somatostatin analog. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov octreotide label
- 20.Teriparatide injection, US FDA prescribing information via openFDA. PTH analog. Includes the Fischer 344 rat carcinogenicity study. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov teriparatide label
- 21.Leuprolide acetate injectable emulsion (VABRINTY), US FDA prescribing information via openFDA. GnRH agonist. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov leuprolide label
- 22.Desmopressin acetate tablets, US FDA prescribing information via openFDA. Vasopressin analog. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov desmopressin label
- 23.US FDA. Bulk Drug Substances Used in Compounding Under Section 503A of the FD&C Act. Content current as of 05/14/2026. fda.gov 503A bulk substances
- 24.US FDA. Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding That May Present Significant Safety Risks (category 2). Content current as of 04/22/2026. fda.gov category 2 substances
- 25.Nhà thuốc Long Châu, product page for Ozempic 1mg (semaglutide), fetched 2026-09-06. Registration number 570410174600. nhathuoclongchau.com.vn Ozempic 1mg
- 26.Nhà thuốc Long Châu, product page for Sandostatin 0.1mg/ml (octreotide), fetched 2026-09-06. Registration number VN-17538-13. nhathuoclongchau.com.vn Sandostatin
Related reading
GLP-1 Side Effects
The one class with its own deep dive
HGH vs Peptides
How the hormone and the secretagogues differ
Tesamorelin Profile
The GHRH analog with an approved label
Ipamorelin Profile
Growth-hormone secretagogue studied for recovery
CJC-1295 Profile
GHRH analog studied in placebo-controlled trials
This guide is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice. It describes what published research and current FDA labels and records say; it is not an endorsement or an instruction to use any compound, and it does not recommend any dose. Peptides, especially unapproved research compounds, can carry risks and interactions; consult a qualified healthcare professional before making any decision about your health.