Peptides Vietnam LogoPeptides Vietnam
GLP-1StorageOct 2026

Does Semaglutide Expire? Shelf Life and Storage Rules

Does semaglutide expire? Yes. Unused Ozempic pens can be used until the EXP date printed on the label, as long as they stay in the fridge. Once a pen is in use, a second clock starts. The Ozempic instructions say a pen in use is thrown away after 56 days, even if medicine is left. Wegovy and compounded vials have their own rules, set out below.

Everything here comes from the FDA labels and the FDA's own guidance page. It describes what they say. It is not medical advice.

Short answer

Does semaglutide expire, and can I use a pen past its EXP date?
Yes, it expires. The Ozempic instructions say unused pens may be used until the EXP date if kept in the fridge. The Wegovy instructions list a passed EXP date as a reason not to use the pen.
My pen was left out of the fridge. Is it still good?
The Ozempic instructions allow a pen in use 56 days at room temperature, 59°F to 86°F. The Wegovy instructions say to throw away a single-dose pen that was out of the fridge 28 days or longer, or above 86°F (30°C).
My pen froze. Can I still use it?
No. The Ozempic and Wegovy instructions both say not to use a pen that has been frozen.
My compounded vial was opened more than 28 days ago. Can I keep using it?
The FDA says not to keep using medicine from a multi-dose vial after 28 days, even if the compounder says it lasts longer.

Sources: Ozempic label (FDA, via DailyMed); Wegovy label (FDA, via DailyMed); FDA, concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs

How long does my pen or vial last, form by form?

Most semaglutide shots are stored in the fridge before first use, and each form has its own time limit after that. This table puts the label and FDA rules in one place.

Sources: FDA labels and Instructions for Use for Ozempic and Wegovy (DailyMed), and the FDA page on unapproved GLP-1 drugs.
FormBefore first useAfter first use or out of the fridgeThrow away if
Ozempic penFridge, 36°F to 46°F (2°C to 8°C), until the EXP date56 days, at room temperature 59°F to 86°F (15°C to 30°C) or in the fridge56 days have passed, it was frozen, or the EXP date has passed
Wegovy single-dose pen or syringeFridge, 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F)If needed, before the cap comes off: 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F) for up to 28 daysFrozen, exposed to light or above 86°F (30°C), out of the fridge 28 days or longer, or past EXP
Wegovy FlexTouch penNot quoted in our sources56 days, at 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) or in the fridgeNot stated in our sources beyond the 56 days
Wegovy tabletsRoom temperature, 68°F to 77°F (20°C to 25°C)SameNot stated in our sources
Compounded multi-dose vialSet by the compounderFDA: generally use within 28 days after first use28 days after first use, even if the compounder says longer

Rules for the Wegovy pens differ by pen type, so check which pen you have against its own instructions.

Sources: Ozempic label (FDA, via DailyMed); Wegovy label (FDA, via DailyMed); FDA, concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs

Can I still use my pen or vial if it is past its date?

The labels and the FDA name seven situations where a pen or vial should not be used. Find yours in the table.

Sources: FDA labels and Instructions for Use for Ozempic (DailyMed label version 1) and Wegovy (DailyMed label version 19); FDA page on unapproved GLP-1 drugs.
SituationWhat the source saysSource
The EXP date has passedDo not use the penWegovy instructions; Ozempic instructions allow unused pens only until EXP
The pen was frozenDo not use itOzempic and Wegovy instructions
An Ozempic pen has been in use for 56 daysThrow it away, even if medicine is leftOzempic instructions
A Wegovy single-dose pen was out of the fridge 28 days or longer, or above 30°C (86°F), or in lightThrow it awayWegovy instructions
Wegovy medicine is not clear and colorless in the pen windowDo not use the penWegovy instructions
An injectable GLP-1 arrived warm or without enough refrigerationDo not use itFDA
A compounded multi-dose vial was first used more than 28 days agoDo not keep using it, even if the compounder says longerFDA

Sources: Ozempic label (FDA, via DailyMed); Wegovy label (FDA, via DailyMed); FDA, concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs

When does my Ozempic pen expire?

It expires on the EXP date printed on its label: the Ozempic instructions say unused pens may be used until then. That holds only if the pens are kept in the fridge.

Think of it as two clocks. The first is the EXP date, which counts for pens that have not been used and stay cold. The second, under the Ozempic instructions, starts at first use and runs for 56 days. Whichever clock runs out first ends the pen's life.

Sources: Ozempic label (FDA, via DailyMed)

How long can my Ozempic pen be out of the fridge?

The Ozempic instructions say a pen in use can stay at room temperature for 56 days. A new, unused pen belongs in the fridge.

The Ozempic instructions say:

  • Store new, unused pens in the refrigerator between 36°F and 46°F (2°C to 8°C).
  • Store the pen in use for 56 days, either at room temperature between 59°F and 86°F (15°C to 30°C) or in the refrigerator.
  • Throw away the pen in use after 56 days, even if it still has medicine in it.
  • Do not freeze Ozempic. Do not use it if it has been frozen.

So the answer to how long semaglutide lasts in the fridge depends on the pen. Unused, it lasts to the EXP date. In use, the instructions give it 56 days whether it sits in the fridge or on a shelf.

Sources: Ozempic label (FDA, via DailyMed)

Does my Wegovy pen need to be refrigerated?

Yes: the Wegovy label says to store the shot in the fridge. The label allows the single-dose pen up to 28 days out of the fridge before the cap comes off, if needed.

For the single-dose pen or syringe, the Wegovy label says:

  • Store it in the refrigerator from 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F).
  • If needed, before the pen or syringe cap is removed, the pen can be kept from 8°C to 30°C (46°F to 86°F) for up to 28 days.
  • Throw it away if it has been frozen, exposed to light or to temperatures above 86°F (30°C), or out of the fridge for 28 days or longer.
  • Do not use it if the medicine is not clear and colorless in the pen window, or if the EXP date has passed.

The label also covers a Wegovy FlexTouch single-patient-use pen. The label says that after first use, it can be stored for 56 days between 15°C and 30°C (59°F to 86°F), or in a fridge at 2°C to 8°C.

Heat matters here. Above 30°C is a throw-away line for the single-dose pen. Our guide to storing peptides in Vietnam's heat covers keeping things cold, and traveling with peptides covers trips.

Sources: Wegovy label (FDA, via DailyMed)

How should Wegovy tablets be stored?

Wegovy tablets do not go in the fridge. The label says to store them at room temperature, between 68°F and 77°F (20°C to 25°C).

Sources: Wegovy label (FDA, via DailyMed)

Is it safe to take expired semaglutide?

The labels give no data on that. They only say not to use a pen once its EXP date has passed.

We searched the Wegovy and Ozempic labels, the tablet label and PubMed. None of them report how well semaglutide works, or how safe it is, after the printed date. So this page cannot say it is safe or unsafe. What the labels do say is plain: a passed EXP date is on the Wegovy list of reasons not to use a pen, and unused Ozempic pens are good only until that date.

Sources: Wegovy label (FDA, via DailyMed); Ozempic label (FDA, via DailyMed)

How long does my compounded semaglutide vial last?

There is no official shelf life for compounded semaglutide, since each compounder sets its own beyond-use date, or BUD. The FDA does give one firm rule for multi-dose vials: 28 days after first use.

The FDA says that, in general, vials holding many doses of a sterile medicine should be used within 28 days after first use. The FDA gives the reason as a higher risk of contamination after 28 days. It also says not to keep using medicine from the vial after 28 days, even if the compounder's instructions say it can be used for longer.

If you work with a vial, the semaglutide reconstitution calculator shows the mg, mL and units math. It does not change the 28-day rule.

Sources: FDA, concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs

What if my semaglutide arrives warm in the mail?

The FDA says not to use it. The agency recommends that patients not use any injectable GLP-1 drug that arrives warm or without enough refrigeration, because this can affect the drug's quality.

Sources: FDA, concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs

Can you skip a week of semaglutide for vacation?

The labels do not cover planned skips. They only cover missed doses, and the two brands handle those differently.

  • Ozempic label: give a missed dose as soon as possible within 5 days. If more than 5 days have passed, skip it and give the next dose on the usual day.
  • Wegovy label: if 2 or more doses in a row are missed, start the step-up again at a lower dose, to lower the risk of stomach and bowel side effects.

Whether to plan a break is a question for the prescriber. The step-up doses are listed in our semaglutide dosage chart.

Sources: Ozempic label (FDA, via DailyMed); Wegovy label (FDA, via DailyMed)

Common questions

Is hers-compounded semaglutide safe?+

No source we used rates Hers or any other compounder. The FDA says compounded drugs are not FDA approved. The FDA says it does not review compounded drugs for safety, effectiveness or quality before they are sold.

Can I skip a week of semaglutide for vacation?+

The labels cover missed doses, not planned skips. The Ozempic label says to give a missed dose within 5 days, or skip it after that. The Wegovy label says that if 2 or more doses in a row are missed, the step-up starts again at a lower dose.

What is the age limit for taking semaglutide?+

The Wegovy label covers its weight use for adults and children aged 12 and older with obesity. The sources we used give no upper age limit.

How should semaglutide injections be stored?+

The Ozempic instructions say to store new, unused pens in the fridge at 36°F to 46°F (2°C to 8°C). The Wegovy label says to store its single-dose pen or syringe in the fridge at 2°C to 8°C. The Ozempic and Wegovy instructions both say not to use a pen that has been frozen.

How long does semaglutide last in the fridge reddit?+

Reddit posts are not a source we used. The Ozempic instructions say unused pens last until the printed EXP date if kept in the fridge. The Ozempic instructions say a pen in use lasts 56 days, in the fridge or at room temperature.

When does the semaglutide patent expire?+

Patent dates are not in the FDA labels or PubMed, so this page does not give one.

Is it safe to take expired semaglutide?+

The labels give no data on how semaglutide holds up after its EXP date. The Wegovy instructions list a passed EXP date as a reason not to use the pen.

Can you use medication after a bud date?+

No official source we found gives data on using a compounded medicine after its beyond-use date (BUD), which each compounder sets. For multi-dose vials, the FDA says not to keep using medicine more than 28 days after first use, even if the compounder says longer.

Sources: Ozempic label (FDA, via DailyMed); Wegovy label (FDA, via DailyMed); FDA, concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs

Related reading

This guide is for education only and is not medical advice. It describes what FDA labels and FDA guidance say about storing semaglutide. Talk to a pharmacist or licensed clinician about your own medicine.

Sources

  1. 1.Ozempic (semaglutide) FDA label and Instructions for Use, Novo Nordisk text listed by A-S Medication Solutions: pen storage, 56-day in-use limit, freezing, EXP date and missed doses. DailyMed label version 1, retrieved October 2026
  2. 2.Wegovy (semaglutide) FDA label and Instructions for Use, Novo Nordisk: pen, syringe and tablet storage, 28-day and 56-day limits, reasons not to use a pen, missed doses and approved ages. DailyMed label version 19, retrieved October 2026
  3. 3.FDA's Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss, U.S. Food and Drug Administration: 28-day multi-dose vial rule, drugs that arrive warm, and compounded drug status. Retrieved October 2026